Alpha, Label of the Year 2016!

Published on 09/11/2016

ALPHA has just been named Label of the Year 2016 by the magazine Classica: ‘In 2016, the French record company has stood out for the exemplary quality of its productions.’

‘A boom year for ALPHA with a dozen Chocs de Classica since last February!’ Recordings by Céline Frisch (Bach), Yury Martynov (Beethoven), John Eliot Gardiner (Monteverdi DVD), Bruno Cocset (Cello Stories and Barrière), Lorenzo Gatto and Julien Libeer (Beethoven), Nelson Goerner (Beethoven), Quatuor Van Kuijk (Mozart), Leonardo García Alarcón (Monteverdi), François Lazarevitch (High Road to Kilkenny), Alexei Lubimov (Satie), Olivier Fortin (Weichlein) and the programmes Il était une fois (Palazzetto Bru Zane) and Madin (Versailles Collection) all achieved this distinction in 2016 . . .

Based in Paris, ALPHA Classics is the principal label of the Franco-Belgian group Outhere Music. Building on a history going back more than fifteen years and a reputation earned in the field of early music, ALPHA took on a new lease of life in 2015 by opening its catalogue to every repertory, welcoming top-flight international artists from very varied backgrounds (including Anna Prohaska, Patricia Kopatchinskaja and Barbara Hannigan) and discovering new talents, whose career development is a priority for the label.

In 2016, Alpha received two Echo Awards in Germany (for the pianist Anna Vinnitskaya and the Belcea Quartet) and a Gramophone Award for the album Néère by Véronique Gens & Susan Manoff.

As part of its digital development programme, Alpha recently launched the application ALPHA PLAY, which offers a simple way of discovering classical music through its own catalogues and the catalogues of partner labels.


Véronique Gens, soprano

Barbara Hannigan, soprano & conductor

Anna Prohaska, soprano

Kate Lindsey, mezzo-soprano

Rupert Charlesworth, tenor

Reinoud Van Mechelen, tenor

Georg Nigl, baritone


Olivier Cavé, piano

Nelson Goerner, piano

Eric Le Sage, piano

Alexei Lubimov, piano

Yury Martynov, piano

Olga Pashchenko, piano

Andrew Tyson, piano

Anna Vinnitskaya, piano

Céline Frisch, harpsichord

Justin Taylor, harpsichord

Tobias Feldmann, violin

Lorenzo Gatto, violin

Tedi Papavrami, violin

Patricia Kopatchinskaja, violin

Marco Ceccato, cello

Bruno Cocset, cello

Marie-Elisabeth Hecker, cello

Thomas Dunford, lute

Juliette Hurel, flute


Giovanni Antonini, Il Giardino Armonico

Simon-Pierre Bestion, La Tempête

Vincent Dumestre, Le Poème Harmonique

Olivier Fortin, Ensemble Masques

Leonardo García Alarcón, Cappella Mediterranea

Jos van Immerseel, Anima Eterna Brugge

Alexis Kossenko, Les Ambassadeurs

François Lazarevitch, Les Musiciens de St Julien

Lionel Meunier, Vox Luminis


Hervé Niquet, Le Concert Spirituel

Matthias Pintscher, Ensemble Intercontemporain

Denis Raisin Dadre, Doulce Mémoire

Jérémie Rhorer, Le Cercle de l’Harmonie

Krzysztof Urbański, NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester

Café Zimmermann

Les Talens Lyriques, Christophe Rousset (DVD)


Belcea Quartet

Busch Trio

Trio Dali

Quatuor Van Kuijk

Quatuor Voce

Elias Quartet

Marie-Elisabeth Hecker, Martin Helmchen…



HAYDN 2032, Giovanni Antonini, Il Giardino Armonico, Kammerorchester Basel

RESOUND BEETHOVEN, Martin Haselböck, Orchester Wiener Akademie

Academy of Festival d’Aix en Provence Collection

Co-productions with Palazzetto Bru Zane

Edouard Ferlet, Violaine Cochard

Le Balcon, Maxime Pascal

Find out more about all Alpha artists and see the full catalogue at