PLEASE BEWARE: This box is only available for delivery in the following regions: Europe and the Mediterranean basin. In these challenging times, we will continue to provide you with all the music you need. Please note that UK orders can take between 2-3 weeks to arrive. We regret that delivery to other countries is not possible at this time, orders placed in error will not be shipped.

German pianist Martin Helmchen continues his journey through Beethoven’s piano concertos with the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester and Andrew Manze.
In the Third Concerto, published in 1804, Beethoven seems to be moving away from the Mozartian model and inaugurates his ‘middle period’, using the minor mode to depict a distress and heartache that are certainly not unconnected with the famous ‘Heiligenstadt Testament’, which he wrote in 1802 to record his growing deafness. Martin Helmchen is joined by two partners with whom he performs a great deal of chamber music – violinist Antje Weithaas and cellist Marie-Elisabeth Hecker – to record the Triple Concerto, also written during the composer’s so-called ‘heroic’ period.

"(…) the relaxed pleasures of the Triple Concerto, with Antje Weithaas's violin and Marie-Elisabeth Hecker's cello, are wonderfully fulfilled. "
The Times
"Here are superb performances that offer sympathetic musicianship leavened by an intelligent awareness of period performance practice–the best of the old and the new."
Classic Today
"Hecker's trenchant fruitiness and Helmchen's silvery focus – create something of a sonic banquet."
"Helmchen's playing is full of expression, subtlety, intelligence and energy, and it marries well with Manze's approach to the orchestra. "
BBC Music Magazine
"(…), the real gem here is a superb performance of the Triple Concerto."
MusicWeb International
"(…) the best of the year in this genre."